Click here to join over 10,000 Subscribers for Free Books & Reviews! Follow on RSS Follow on Twitter Follow on Linked In
Author: Genre: (, ) Length: Novel

Free on 29th Nov 19 - 2nd Dec 19
View on Amazon.co.uk
or borrow free on Kindle Unlimited.

Read Review

Top - Reviews - Update Details

FIFTEEN YEARS IN THE ARCTIC COLD

North Pole science station: Polar Researcher Niklas is the laughing stock of his colleagues when sack after sack of misdirected post arrives at his door…

…but soon he will show them. He will be invited to conferences again. Get to whizz around the world. Everywhere he goes, people will know his name. All he needs to do is publish his science paper, then he will have the recognition he deserves.

But what if Niklas was never cut out to be a scientist? What if he was destined for something else? And what if those letters were not misdirected at all?

*******

The Christmas Hypothesis is an unusual and very charming Christmas novel that will make you smile. Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

Get your copy today.

Free on 29th Nov 19 - 2nd Dec 19
View on Amazon.co.uk

Reviews:

"A book to enjoy reading for readings sake, especially at Christmas."

Reviewer: .



Shortly before Christmas, Niklas Heikkinen, a scientist who has been stationed at the North Pole for 15 years, finds he is out of a job for not submitting his thesis after all that time. On leaving he finds he has taken with him one of the many letters he has received while addressed to Santa Claus. On a whim, he decides to go where the letter was sent from and heads for London. Staying at a B&B, run by the sprightly Mrs Dollimore, who helps him put together a set of criteria to show if he could be Santa Claus and why he received so many letters. While seeing if it might be true, his path crosses that of Clare Sheldon, who helps her father run a reindeer sanctuary in Scotland and she is collecting an unwanted reindeer, but something any real Santa would need. As the co-incidences start piling up, they begin to wonder if the hypothesis may be true.

This is a curious book. It's fairly light and undemanding, ideal for someone just looking for a read to pass the time, but there is little more than that. The plot is set out fairly neatly and it's fun to watch how everything develops, despite it meandering on occasion, from Niklas' behaviour and lack of realisation and understanding of the world he is passing through. The characters are a fun trio, each with their own outlook on the world and their interactions help to engage the readers in what is likely to happen next. However, several of the sections in Niklas' past seem to have little reason to be there, and though Niklas is described as being strange when he is young, what that strangeness could be, is never fully fleshed out. The writing is excellent and helps to really set out what is going on and the thoughts and feelings of each character, but it didn't help enough to stop me speeding through waiting for the next event to unfold.

It's not a bad book by any stretch, but it's not a stretching book, just something to enjoy reading for readings sake, especially at Christmas.

Rating: 3



Top - Reviews - Update Details

Third Party Reviews:


No reviews yet. Why not link one?

You can suggest a blog review here

Discussion

New to the site? Leave a comment below or view the chat on our forum here:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Website (optional)

Your Message



*Your email will not be displayed on the site. All message are held for moderation.



Top - Reviews - Update Details




Bookangel.co.uk


Credibtz : Rebuild the Economy for a greener,smart,fairer, better world
Shattered Dreams (Freedom Trilogy Book 1)
A New Beginning (Starting Over Trilogy Book 1)
Credibtz : Rebuild the Economy for a greener,smart,fairer, better world
Demystifying Enlightenment: Messages, Signs, and Predictions From The Spiritual World
The Angelic Realm: Discovering The Spiritual World and Its Healing Powers
Credibtz : Rebuild the Economy for a greener,smart,fairer, better world
Shattered Dreams (Freedom Trilogy Book 1)
A New Beginning (Starting Over Trilogy Book 1)
Credibtz : Rebuild the Economy for a greener,smart,fairer, better world
Demystifying Enlightenment: Messages, Signs, and Predictions From The Spiritual World
The Angelic Realm: Discovering The Spiritual World and Its Healing Powers