In a Spider’s Web — a Jimmy “Soldier” Riley short story (Soldier Mysteries)

Listing on BookAngel:


In a Spider's Web -- a Jimmy "Soldier" Riley short story (Soldier Mysteries)

Last Free Dates: 17th Dec 14 to 21st Dec 14
Read More

View on Amazon.co.uk

...Mystery readers, action, and detective fans should love this. Fans of the noir and hard-boiled genres should adore it....

In the post-war period, one-armed detective Jimmy Riley is hired by a local gangster’s attorney to find out if his wife is having an affair. Taking the job to try to prove himself to the senior detective, he finds himself over his head quickly. Falling for his target is always a bad idea, and in a case where everyone is lying, it could be a fatal one.

With great writing, distinctive characters, and a tight well planned plot with excellent pacing, this is an excellent piece of noir in the vein of Mickey Spillane or Dashiell Hammett. This has it all, the dame, the gangster, the hard-boiled detective, and a plot that keeps you guessing right to the last page. The traditional blend of Action, Romance and Mystery is pulled off perfectly.

Mystery readers, action, and detective fans should love this. Fans of the noir and hard-boiled genres should adore it.

Rating: 4
Reviewed by
Reviewed on:
Review Policy: No compensation is received for reviews. View our Review Policy here.


Other reviews you might like:


  • Who Follows
    A purely psychological horror story about stalking and trauma, this is engrossing. Horror, thriller and suspense fans won't regret giving this a look.
  • Girl of Great Price
    Mystery readers and action readers will enjoy this, as well as fans of the noir genre.
  • Sentinel
    Great mystery, great police drama, and a great story.

Discussion

New to the site? Leave a comment below or view the chat on our forum here:

You are commenting as a Guest: Login Or Register

Your Message



*Your email will not be displayed on the site. All message are held for moderation.