Click here to join over 10,000 Subscribers for Free Books & Reviews! Follow on RSS Follow on Twitter Follow on Linked In
Author: Genre: Length: Novel

Free on 13th - 17th Jun 16
View on Amazon.co.uk
or borrow free on Kindle Unlimited.

Read Review

Also Available as:
Print Edition

Top - Reviews - Newspaper - Update Details

This book was featured in the newspaper column - click for details

For fans of LEE CHILD and ROBERT B. PARKER…

Professional poker player Jon “Big Slick” Elder was minding his own business in a diner when an Arizona sheriff walked in and killed the man sitting next to him, a Mexican day laborer accused of murder. The law officer then arrested Slick simply because the sheriff didn’t like the color of Slick’s skin.

Slick knew that the stranger who had been sitting next to him at the diner was no murderer because, in addition to cards, Slick also kills people for money. The poor man didn’t have the look, but Slick does, and with the help of a beautiful assistant district attorney, a Navajo state trooper and a homegrown federal agent, Slick sets out to prove the dead man’s innocence. What he discovers, as he digs deeper, is a deadly mystery that threatens not only him, but his newfound friends as well. But Slick hates to have anyone… ANYONE… toss him his shoes and tell him to get out of town.

BULLETS – mystery thriller by Elijah Drive

Free on 13th - 17th Jun 16
View on Amazon.co.uk

Reviews:

"This is an exciting, intriguing, and thrilling book with twists and turns that are unexpected but all too believable. Dear author: please write another one like this."

Reviewer: .


In a small Arizona town a redneck sheriff and his team arrest three day labourers, for murder, and a New York tourist simply for witnessing it. Except Slick isn't just a poker playing tourist, and the next day his friend arrives with a high price lawyer, only for him to insist on a trial. It is not enough for him to be released, he wants to take down all of them, legally if possible and if not...well, Slick has other resources.

I was actually surprised to find out that this was the author's debut novel, because it is a very good thriller. The plot is fast-paced and unpredictable, the characters each have a unique personality and depth to them, and there are no loose ends. One thing that stood out was the excellent use of modern technology and it has the best use of cloud-tech I have yet seen. Also this is very definitely a story where anyone can die, and many do, and as they come closer to revealing what is going on the violence escalates. Early on it appears to be a simple story about the dark side of racial politics in the small-town US, but it quickly becomes obvious there's more than that going on. A legal and political thriller, it can appeal to readers outside the US easily, as the culture of town and community is expanded for the reader as the book progresses and the fact it is in Arizona is key to the plot.

One of the real strengths of the book is the characterisation: Slick stands out as a lead with a lot of depth: he's intelligent, literate, a vegan, and kills people for a living. Camilla, the DA and prosecutor, has a backstory, personality, and goals of her own. The deputies aren't portrayed with as much character, but then the story is told from Slick's point of view so they aren't really going to go into family backgrounds with someone they are beating up. There was one plot twist which I felt was a little cliched (it is a trope), which I won't disclose because of spoilers, but it is that rare case where the author had written it so well it actually came as a nasty shock when it happened.

This is an exciting, intriguing, and thrilling book with twists and turns that are unexpected but all too believable. Dear author: please write another one like this.

Rating: 4



Top - Reviews - Newspaper - Update Details

Third Party Reviews:


No reviews yet. Why not link one?

You can suggest a blog review here

Newspaper Review:

This book was featured in our newspaper column - click for larger version
This book was one of our Reviewer's Choices to be featured in our newspaper column. Click here for more information.

Top - Reviews - Newspaper - Update Details

Discussion

rz3300 (18 September 2016)
Well I am all for a thrilling book with twists and turns, so sign me up. I am a little confused though, by what you mean when you say "unexpected but all too believable", but I have to say, that it just makes me that much more intrigued to get started reading it.

New to the site? Leave a comment below or view the chat on our forum here:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Website (optional)

Your Message



*Your email will not be displayed on the site. All message are held for moderation.



Top - Reviews - Newspaper - Update Details




Bookangel.co.uk


Looking Through Lace
To Cure A Curse
This Long Vigil: A Science Fiction Short Story
The Angelic Realm: Discovering The Spiritual World and Its Healing Powers
Escape to Osprey Cove: Book 1 of The Osprey Cove Lodge Series
Jimmy Crikey's Adventures in the Sky Islands: (and beyond) (The Adventures of Jimmy Crikey)
Flight to Bern Village: Vastus
Looking Through Lace
To Cure A Curse
This Long Vigil: A Science Fiction Short Story
The Angelic Realm: Discovering The Spiritual World and Its Healing Powers
Escape to Osprey Cove: Book 1 of The Osprey Cove Lodge Series
Jimmy Crikey's Adventures in the Sky Islands: (and beyond) (The Adventures of Jimmy Crikey)
Flight to Bern Village: Vastus