Click here to join over 10,000 Subscribers for Free Books & Reviews! Follow on RSS Follow on Twitter Follow on Linked In

Free on 17th - 21st Dec 14
View on Amazon.co.uk
 

Read Review

Top - Reviews - Update Details

Walk the mean streets of wartime Panama City with Jimmy
“Soldier” Riley, a wounded, woman-haunted knight errant in this short
story by Michael Lister that introduces readers to the new noir series
Publisher’s Weekly calls “a promising private detective series set in
1940s Florida,” and Library Journal says “peppered with snappy
dialog, this hard-boiled mystery by award winner Lister is a swell read.”
Then go on to read THE BIG GOODBYE, THE BIG BEYOND, and THE BIG HELLO.

Free on 17th - 21st Dec 14
View on Amazon.co.uk

Reviews:

"Mystery readers, action, and detective fans should love this. Fans of the noir and hard-boiled genres should adore it."

Reviewer: .


In the post-war period, one-armed detective Jimmy Riley is hired by a local gangster's attorney to find out if his wife is having an affair. Taking the job to try to prove himself to the senior detective, he finds himself over his head quickly. Falling for his target is always a bad idea, and in a case where everyone is lying, it could be a fatal one.

With great writing, distinctive characters, and a tight well planned plot with excellent pacing, this is an excellent piece of noir in the vein of Mickey Spillane or Dashiell Hammett. This has it all, the dame, the gangster, the hard-boiled detective, and a plot that keeps you guessing right to the last page. The traditional blend of Action, Romance and Mystery is pulled off perfectly.

Mystery readers, action, and detective fans should love this. Fans of the noir and hard-boiled genres should adore it.

Rating: 4



Top - Reviews - Update Details

Third Party Reviews:


No reviews yet. Why not link one?

You can suggest a blog review here

Discussion

New to the site? Leave a comment below or view the chat on our forum here:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Website (optional)

Your Message



*Your email will not be displayed on the site. All message are held for moderation.



Top - Reviews - Update Details




Bookangel.co.uk


The Rusalka Ritual and Other Stories (Dragonscale Dimensions Book 1)
Sin Eater
IVIEKA
Escape to Osprey Cove: Book 1 of The Osprey Cove Lodge Series
Demystifying Enlightenment: Messages, Signs, and Predictions From The Spiritual World
Inside Isla
Jack of All Trades
The Rusalka Ritual and Other Stories (Dragonscale Dimensions Book 1)
Sin Eater
IVIEKA
Escape to Osprey Cove: Book 1 of The Osprey Cove Lodge Series
Demystifying Enlightenment: Messages, Signs, and Predictions From The Spiritual World
Inside Isla
Jack of All Trades